Stakes Races

Florida Derby at Gulfstream Park

The Florida Derby Stakes, held annually at Gulfstream Park, is one of the preparatory races for 3-year-olds running for the Kentucky Derby. The Florida Derby, along with the Blue Grass Stakes, Wood Memorial, and Santa Anita Derby has been one of the most anticipated prep races for the Kentucky Derby throughout the race's history. A total of fifteen winners of the Flordia Derby have gone on to win the Kentucky Derby, including Orb, Big Brown, Barbaro and Northern Dancer at Churchill Downs.

The Florida Derby debuted at Gulfstream Park in 1952, as the race track expanded. The next year the derby purse was raised to $100,000 making it the first stakes event so richly endowed in the Sunshine State.

It was in 1957, in a historic race where Gen. Duke equaled the world record 1:46.80 and defeating Bold Ruler, that the Florida Derby was established as a major stepping stone to the Kentucky Derby and the Triple Crown trail.

The race continued to rise in popularity over the next years, along with it the significant increase in the race's purse. Standing at $1 million today, the Florida Derby is still one of the richest horse racing stakes.

Florida Derby Race Information 

Location: Gulfstream Park - Hallandale Beach, Florida, USA
Inauguratal Race: 1952
Race type: Thoroughbred - Flat racing
Distance: 1 1/8 miles (9 furlongs)
Track: Dirt, Left-handed
Qualification: Three-year-olds
Purse: $1 million
Grade I

Kentucky Derby Prep Race

The Florida Derby Stakes is part of the 2nd leg of the Kentucky Derby Prep Races - Championship Series, where the first four finishers will receive the following points in their race for the roses: 1st - 100points, 2nd - 40points, 3rd - 20points, 4th - 10points.

2014 Florida Derby

Cairo Prince is leading 3-year-old heading into Florida Derby. The Holy Bull Stakes winner will start in the 1 1/8-mile Florida Derby at Gulfstream Park on Saturday, March 29. This will be his last race before the Kentucky Derby on May 3rd. Cairo Prince is the likely favorite for the race.

Another Kentucky Derby Contender, California Chrome, who won the San Felipe Stakes, will race in the Santa Anita Derby on April 5 prior to the Run for the Roses. Candy Boy is another Derby contender who will most likely race in the Santa Anita Derby along side California Chrome.

Bet on Florida Derby

US Racing features race analysis, interviews, free handicapping tips and stories on the trainers, jockeys, owners and horses that make up the colorful sport of horse racing. US Racing features the best tracks in the United States, including Churchill Downs, Belmont, Pimlico, Saratoga, Del Mar and Santa Anita. Internationally, US Racing offers content from Australia, Dubai, Great Britain, Ireland and Japan.

US Racing - The Official OTB of the USA. Join US Racing and bet on Stakes Races today!

Florida Derby Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2019 Maximum Security Luis Saez Jason Servis Gary and Mary West 1:48.86
2018 Audible John R. Velazquez Todd Pletcher China Horse Club,
Head of Plains Partners LLC,
Starlight Racing, WinStar Farm
2017 Always Dreaming John R. Velazquez Todd Pletcher Brooklyn Boyz/Te.Viola Racing 1:47.47
2016 Nyquist Mario Gutierrez Doug O'Neill Reddam Racing 1:49.11
2015 Materiality John R. Velazquez Todd Pletcher Alto Racing 1:52.30
2014 Constitution Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher Winstar Farm 1:49.17
2013 Orb John Velazquez Claude McGaughey III S. Janney & Phipps Stable 1:50.87
2012 Take Charge Indy Calvin Borel Patrick B. Byrne C & M Sandford 1:48.79
2011 Dialed In Julien Leparoux Nick Zito Robert V. LaPenta 1:50.74
2010 Ice Box Jose Lezcano Nick Zito Robert V. LaPenta 1:49.19
2009 Quality Road John Velazquez James A. Jerkens Edward P. Evans 1:47.72
2008 Big Brown Kent Desormeaux Richard E. Dutrow Jr. IEAH Stables/Paul Pompa Jr. 1:48.16
2007 Scat Daddy Edgar Prado Todd A. Pletcher James Scatuorchio/M. Tabor 1:49.00
2006 Barbaro Edgar Prado Michael Matz Lael Stables 1:49.01
2005 High Fly Jerry Bailey Nick Zito Live Oak Plantation 1:49.43
2004 Friends Lake Richard Migliore John C. Kimmel Chester & Mary Broman 1:51.38
2003 Empire Maker Jerry Bailey Robert Frankel Juddmonte Farms 1:49.05
2002 Harlan's Holiday Edgar Prado Kenneth McPeek Starlight Stable 1:48.80
2001 Monarchos Jorge Chavez John T. Ward, Jr. John C. Oxley 1:49.95
2000 Hal's Hope Roger Velez Harold J. Rose Rose Family Stable 1:51.49
1999 Vicar Shane Sellers Carl Nafzger James B. Tafel 1:50.83
1998 Cape Town † Shane Sellers D. Wayne Lukas Overbrook Farm 1:49.21
1997 Captain Bodgit Alex Solis Gary Capuano Team Valor 1:50.60
1996 Unbridled's Song Mike Smith James T. Ryerson Paraneck Stable 1:47.85
1995 Thunder Gulch Mike Smith D. Wayne Lukas Michael Tabor 1:49.70
1994 Holy Bull Mike Smith Warren A. Croll, Jr. Warren A. Croll, Jr. 1:47.66
1993 Bull Inthe Heather Wigberto Ramos Howard M. Tesher Arthur Klein 1:51.38
1992 Technology Jerry Bailey Hubert Hine Scott C. Savin 1:50.72
1991 Fly So Free Jose Santos Scotty Schulhofer Tommy Valando 1:50.44
1990 Unbridled Pat Day Carl Nafzger Genter Stable 1:52.00
1989 Mercedes Won Earlie Fires Arnold Fink Christopher Spencer 1:49.60
1988 Brian's Time Randy Romero John M. Veitch James W. Phillips 1:49.80
1987 Cryptoclearance Jose Santos Scotty Schulhofer Phil Teinowitz 1:49.60
1986 Snow Chief Alex Solis Melvin F. Stute Rochelle/Grinstead 1:51.80
1985 Proud Truth Jorge Velasquez John M. Veitch Darby Dan Farm 1:50.00
1984 Swale Laffit Pincay, Jr. Woody Stephens Claiborne Farm 1:47.60
1983 Croeso Frank Olivares Stephen A. DiMauro Cardiff Stud Farm/J. & R. Fowler 1:49.80
1982 Timely Writer Jeffrey Fell Dominic Imprescia Peter & Francis Martin 1:49.60
1981 Lord Avie Chris McCarron Daniel Perlsweig David Simon 1:50.40
1980 Plugged Nickle Buck Thornburg Thomas J. Kelly John M. Schiff 1:50.20
1979 Spectacular Bid Ronnie Franklin Bud Delp Hawksworth Farm 1:48.80
1978 Alydar Jorge Velasquez John M. Veitch Calumet Farm 1:47.00
1977‡ Ruthie's Native Craig Perret Eugene Jacobs Ruth A. Perlmutter 1:50.20
1977‡ Coined Silver Buck Thornburg George T. Poole III C. V. Whitney 1:48.80
1976 Honest Pleasure Braulio Baeza LeRoy Jolley Bertram R. Firestone 1:47.80
1975 Prince Thou Art Braulio Baeza Lou Rondinello Darby Dan Farm 1:50.40
1974 Judger Laffit Pincay, Jr. Woody Stephens Claiborne Farm 1:49.00
1973 Royal and Regal Walter Blum Warren A. Croll, Jr. Aisco Stable 1:47.40
1972 Upper Case Ron Turcotte Lucien Laurin Meadow Stable 1:50.00
1971 Eastern Fleet Eddie Maple Reggie Cornell Calumet Farm 1:47.40
1970 My Dad George Ray Broussard Frank J. McManus Raymond M. Curtis 1:50.80
1969 Top Knight Manuel Ycaza Raymond F. Metcalf Steven B. Wilson 1:48.40
1968 Forward Pass Don Brumfield Henry Forrest Calumet Farm 1:49.00
1967 In Reality Earlie Fires Melvin Calvert Frances A. Genter 1:50.20
1966 Williamston Kid † Robert Stevenson James Bartlett Ternes & Bartlett 1:50.60
1965 Native Charger John L. Rotz Raymond F. Metcalf Warner Stable 1:51.20
1964 Northern Dancer Bill Shoemaker Horatio Luro Windfields Farm 1:50.80
1963 Candy Spots Bill Shoemaker Mesh Tenney Rex C. Ellsworth 1:50.60
1962 Ridan Manuel Ycaza LeRoy Jolley Jolley / Woods / Greer 1:50.40
1961 Carry Back Johnny Sellers Jack A. Price Mrs. Katherine Price 1:48.80
1960 Bally Ache Bobby Ussery Homer Pitt Edgehill Farm 1:47.60
1959 Easy Spur Bill Hartack Paul L. Kelley Spring Hill Farm 1:47.20
1958 Tim Tam Bill Hartack Horace A. Jones Calumet Farm 1:49.20
1957 Gen. Duke Bill Hartack Horace A. Jones Calumet Farm 1:46.80
1956 Needles David Erb Hugh L. Fontaine D & H Stable 1:48.60
1955 Nashua Eddie Arcaro Jim Fitzsimmons Belair Stud 1:53.20
1954 Correlation Bill Shoemaker Noble Threewitt Robert S. Lytle 1:55.20
1953 Money Broker Alfred Popara Vester R. Wright G. & G. Stable 1:53.80
1952 Sky Ship Ronnie Nash Preston M. Burch Brookmeade Stable 1:50.80

Proudly featured on: